First timer on the WSM yesterday

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hello to all newbie here and to smoking. Bought a WSM on friday and fired it up saturday to do a pork butt for the Chiefs game. I have to tell I could use some advice on keeping a good slow fire going.
I used the "Minion Method" and all was going well, temp at 250 at the dome, couple hours later the fire was just burning up and I had to add more coals. Wind was pretty stong, but I fashioned a block of sorts to help. Under normal circumstances how should my vents be placed as I smoke?

Hi Peter.Welcome to the board.
As you've discovered wind can have a significant impact. Generally, when my temp at the lid starts approaching 200 I start closing bottom vents. The top ones stay open fully throughout the cook. Usually, when wind isn't a factor, all three bottom vents are open a bit, around 20% open or so, sometimes closer to 10% depending on howmuch lit I started with and whether I'm using lump, briquettes or a mix.

If wind is an issue then the vent on that side is closed entirely and I regulate with the other two, sometimes closing another if needed. (You can see how a windbreak can be helpful. I lost mine in the hurricanes and have not yet re-built it.)

Keep in mind that vent adjustments can take 20-30 minutes to be completely effective.

Several factors will determine how your vents will need to be set for each individual cook-- wind is but one of them. Others include how much meat you are cooking, and even if the WSM is in sun or shade. Know that wind will indeed "suck the heat right out of" your cooker, and will accelerate charcoal usage-- a wind block would be a valuable accessory. I find that, once the cooker has stabilized, bottom vents each open about 20% seem to keep the WSM in the 235-250° range for me.

Welcome aboard. Glad your here.