first time grilling burgers

TroyRedington

TVWBB All-Star
it's hard to believe that i've been grilling for 7 years, and have NEVER made burgers on the grill.

I've made hot dogs and brats, but never burgers. I guess I just always considered it too cliche and lame.

But I've been craving a kickass burger, so i made some and grilled them.

I used half ground chuck and half ground sirloin. I splashed in some worsercherchesterstershiresher.. and some garlic powder. I made the patties about 1/2 pound (yeah) and sprinkled on a nice layer of stubbs burger rub.

the grill was around 700 degrees when i put them on, i got it extra hot because it's 20 degrees outside. the burgers came out with some badass grill marks, and they tasted absolutely amazing.
i topped them off with a slice of vidalia onion, roma tomato, provolone cheese, and a squirt of my homemade shiner bock bbq sauce.

absolutely the best burger i've ever had... and i've had a LOT of burgers (trust me on this one)

i didn't take pics, because 1)i was starving. 2)i was freezing (grilled in shorts and t-shirt) and 3)i'm mega depressed and feel like quitting my job and shooting myself in the face

to my family's dismay, i spent the rest of the evening in the garage working on the baby blue kettle restoration.

i know pics are required, so i hereby vow to do these again and take pics.

As Homer would say - "Hmmm ... burgers."

My eldest daughter loves my burgers, even more than my BBQ, and I'll cook her one, no matter what else I have going.

Sounds like some fantastic burgers Troy!
Mine are usually just so-so.

I've had bouts of mild depression, and it's no fun.
I highly recommend that you talk to your doctor if yours persists.

Sounds like the best ones you've ever made too!

Burgers can be tough cause u set the size and shape of the patty. Most meats that's not the case. What shape did u go with?

I've found that I like mine a little smaller so I can eat more or even stack em.