first major catering BBQ project questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom Raveret

TVWBB Pro
I'm looking for advice on how to pull off a catering event for my boating group next tuesday and would love suggestions from you experienced caterers (and anyone else for that matter) on any aspect especially quantity to cook, how to reheat a large quantity with the best flavor and Brisket.

My boating group is covering all the cost of food but my labor is donated. All the money we raise goes to promote safe boating anyways so these are my friends and it gives me a great chance to get some experience trying my hand at catering.

I'm cooking for about 60 adults.

Here's what I have to work with at home . 1 WSM 1BGE (gracioulsy loaned by my neighbor but of which I have no experience with) 1 charbroil "deluxe" charcoal smoker (that has just been colelcting rust since I got the WSM a couple of years ago) and 3 Weber 27 in kettles and one oblong Kingsford grill.

At the place I will be serving they have all the chafing dishes and Nescos I could need. A double alto-sham warming oven. 4 weber kettles

Heres my tentative menu:

Pulled Pork Sandwiches
Beef Brisket
Beer Can Chicken
Cole Slaw
BBQ Beans
two gallons "Fat Bastards Hawgwash" sauce

Possibly Banana pudding w/wafers
(we are having a frozen custard sundae bar for desert and I'm not sure if the pudding would be overkill)

Timeline:

Wednesday night do an overnight cook with 4 shoulders (I seasoned 4 today with southern succor rub tonight)

Thursday night do another overnight cook with 4 shoulders

Pull all when done and pack in foodsaver bags and freeze

Sunday night take the frozen BBQ out of the freezer and season 2 briskets

Monday: make the beans

Monday night cook two briskets overnight and wrap and foil them when done holding them in my holding oven until ready to go set up for the event around 2:00 PM

Also prep and season 12 chickens for beer can chicken.