First burn with lump

Brian H.

TVWBB Member
I am 10 1/2 hours in with my first burn using lump - Royal Oak. All I can say is wow. Using the minion method, after it reached 200 degrees I closed all three vents to 25 % it reached temp and held. I did make two more adjustments about and hour and and hour and half later, but I shouldn't have - I was anticipating where I thought the temp was going which was up so I opened the vents a little and then a half hour later closed them back to 25%. Went to bed a couple of hours later with the temp holding. Woke up several times throughout the night and the temp was holding. Temp dropped this morning, so I stirred the coals and it is back up. (There was less ash than kingsford, but there was still ash).

I am now a convert to lump. (Going to have to try Wicked Good and some others) No temp spikes, and held and held and held. With Kingsford (and I am relatively new to the WSM) it seemed I just had more temp fluctuations. Never have I been able too set the vent position and leave it for so long.

Hope the brisket turns out as good as it smells....

Temperature spikes usually trace back to the fire ring. Good practice is to carefully pack and tamp the fuel load to ensure even ignition and burn. Gaps and uneven charcoal size can be problematic.

Looking into a burning ring of lump may show a bunch of ash, but it is much less dense than kingsford, and a little rap should settle it out. Even after 30+ hour burns, I'll still have less than half a bowl of ash.

Haven't visited the whiz lately, but i remember royal oak is well considered. If you like to splurge, mailorder a couple of bags of Mapleleaf, it's a real treasure- you don't even need smoke wood with it in the ring]!

I am going to order some wicked Lump. Wouldn't mind ordering some maple leaf too (read about it on naked whiz). Any suggestions on where to order the Maple Leaf?