E-435 Griddle insert vs stand alone griddle?

Joe C LI NY

Griddle insert vs Blackstone?

Last season I picked up a Genesis II E-435. Frankly I haven’t gotten to use it a TON, but I do love it. I’ll have to admit that I’m still an amateur BBQ’er.

My wife has asked me about Father’s Day gift ideas and I’ve been thinking of maybe adding a griddle...and later on a charcoal kettle and pellet smoker 😬

Now I’m not sure if I should add a griddle insert to my current E-435 or get a dedicated Blackstone griddle.

I wish there was an aftermarket griddle side mounted add-on for my E-435 like those that are available for many of the pellet smokers.

Pro of the griddle insert in the Weber is that it saves space and utilizes equipment that I already have.

Con with a griddle insert in the Weber is going back and forth between the stock grates and the griddle. Which seems like it may be annoying and cumbersome. Or, will I just leave the griddle insert in indefinitely???

So, what are everyone’s thoughts?
What griddle insert should I go with if I go that route?

Will a griddle insert or Blackstone get hit enough for a mean sear?

Griddle insert vs Blackstone?

Last season I picked up a Genesis II E-435. Frankly I haven’t gotten to use it a TON, but I do love it. I’ll have to admit that I’m still an amateur BBQ’er.

My wife has asked me about Father’s Day gift ideas and I’ve been thinking of maybe adding a griddle...and later on a charcoal kettle and pellet smoker 😬

Now I’m not sure if I should add a griddle insert to my current E-435 or get a dedicated Blackstone griddle.

I wish there was an aftermarket griddle side mounted add-on for my E-435 like those that are available for many of the pellet smokers.

Pro of the griddle insert in the Weber is that it saves space and utilizes equipment that I already have.