Dry Brisket?

Tom Murtiashaw

TVWBB Member
Attempted my third brisket on the WSM during smoke day and though it has a great smoke ring a lots of flavor, it's a little on the dry side. About a 5 lb cut with a nice fat cap but it took 13 hours to reach 190 internal temp. Hit a 175 degree plateau 7 or 8 hours into the cook, then dropped back to 168 internally and remained there several hours before climbing again, and only after the WSM internal temp rose from 200 to 225. Any suggestions for the future, perhaps wrapping when it hits a plateau and let it finish the cook in foil to prevent drying, etc. P.S. Everthing else for the day turned out great, 2 BBs, half a turkey breast and 6 baked potatoes. I was tending the smoker for 18 hours, with short naps from time to time, and of course the clothes I was wearing now have a smoke ring...thanks.

If only brisket was as easy as butt. I am not an expert on brisket but I do have two thoughts. One would be to pull a little earlier-about 185 and/or try foil to see if you like that texture better.
On my last cook, I put the brisket in foil for about two hours then finished out of foil. The experts may think that method is not the best. They may even laugh at the thought of putting apple jelly and a little sauce in the foil but my wife like the touch of sweetness....

Tom I usually cook at 220-245. 200 seems low...