critical cooking mass

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe McManus

TVWBB All-Star
Ok nerdy question - is there an optimum mass or amount of meat that enables the WSM to perform at its best. Example, I'm cooking two slabs of ribs this weekend. Is there any advantage to throwing a butt on to cook (other than I love eating pulled pork sandwiches for lunch all week, and a local market won't quit selling them for $0.99/lb). Does the cooker perform better with more meat? Is it easier to regulate temps with more meat to absorb some of the engergy available? Y'all will have to forgive me, I'm an engineer and this whole smokin thing is giving me flashbacks to heat transfer class.

Joe
Your assignment is to answer that question, we expect a full report. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
Jim

I think this sums it up pretty well:
img433.gif
/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks Doug! I'm thinking that an experimental approach will be better than analysis this time. It'll at least taste better! I knew heat transfer was one of my favorite subjects for a reason!

Well I will follow up with a potentially "dumb" question.
If cooking ribs and pork butt simultaneously, which goes on the top grate and which goes on the bottom grate? Or does it even matter?

Optimum amount of meat would be, "since you're firing the thing up, might as well fill it and get the most out of it."

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jim P:
[qb] Well I will follow up with a potentially "dumb" question.
If cooking ribs and pork butt simultaneously, which goes on the top grate and which goes on the bottom grate? Or does it even matter? [/qb] <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I would put ribs up top, as they will need more attention than the butt during the time they are on the cooker-- basting, turning, foiling (optional). Probably wouldn't want the butt rendering fat onto the ribs either.