Cooking Spares

Status
Not open for further replies.

Russ Hazzon

TVWBB Pro
I never really got an answer from a previous post so I thought I'd ask again. Two racks of spares (untrimmed), 4 pounds each, cooked on top rack for approx 7 hours at 210-225 degrees. Ribs came out too dry for my liking. Does it sound like they were overcooked? I've got zero experience with spares and would like to get it right.

Also, is there a trick to removing the membrane? I found this pretty easy with BB's, but almost broke out the power tools trying to remove it from the spares.

Russ.....

It's been years since I cooked untrimmed spares. Dryness may be due to a too hot , though if it took 7 hours your temps were probably OK. I cook at a grate temp of 225? and TRIMMED spares will take me a good 7 hours including time in the foil.

May also be due to no mopping. With the vast amount of surface area on that big slab of ribs, 7 hours in a cooking environment will dry them out. There is a pretty big difference in thickness throughout that large piece of meat. The thinner parts will get dried out while you try finishing the thickest parts.

I suggest a good steady mopping. If not using foil, I know comp cooks who will spray every half hour.

Foil is another tool that will keep ribs from drying out. Wrap about half way thru the cook, then sauce and throw back on, unwrapped, for the last 30 minutes.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Russ Hazzon:
[qb]Also, is there a trick to removing the membrane? I found this pretty easy with BB's, but almost broke out the power tools trying to remove it from the spares. [/qb] <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I just start at the corner furthest from the skirt, and pry up a corner using a butter knife. Then grab it with a piece of paper towel and start pulling up and towards the skirt at the same time-- usually comes off in one piece.