Chicken Quarters - recommendations?

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

I'm trying my second smoke on my new WSM tomorrow with a large group of friends. I've picked up about 15 1bs of Chicken quarters (for about $2.50) and I'm wanting to find the best way to prepare and smoke them for a novice cooker like me.

Quick questions:
1) Am I going to be able to 15 lbs. in the WSM, or should I just think of using one package of about 8 lbs.

2) I'll be getting home from church around 1 and will have folks coming over around 6. Am I thinking right that I can put the chicken in the brine when I get home, fire up the grill shortly thereafter, start smoking in the 2:30-3 time frame, and be looking good for a 6 o'clock meal?

3) Any other advice/recipes that anyone recommends? I've looked at a few on the website, but haven't decided which to try. Remember, I'm a rookie!

Thanks for any help you can offer.

I am going to assume you have read the posts about chicken on the WSM. There are pros and cons. Mostly, you have to go at a higher temp than for pork or beef. Keri C. has posted a nice summary of her successful cook... LINK TO KERI'S POST...

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

AR

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by B Prewitt:... Am I thinking right that I can put the chicken in the brine when I get home, fire up the grill shortly thereafter, start smoking in the 2:30-3 time frame, and be looking good for a 6 o'clock mea </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
With this time frame, I think you would be better off with a higher heat cook than the low/slow. You'll also get crisper skin which is preferred by most. I do a lot of low/slow with chix halves and usually go 4+ hrs.