Catering (for free) for a volunteer EMS/Fire Dept squad

Jeremiah Sullivan

TVWBB Member
I love cooking for people, it truly makes me happy. I enjoy the process from start to finish, far more then enjoying the results afterwards (but they're excellent as well). A co-worker of mine asked me how I felt about catering for an event he is having with his EMS squad. The entire prospect is incredibly exciting, and I would love to have this opportunity.

The main issue is that this is a new experience for me. There should be approximately ~50 people in attendance. I have plenty of experience cooking for 25-30 people, but this was in a "family and friends" setting. The main area of where this throws me off is that now I have to budget for how much food to make and how much it will cost, as opposed to just making sure there is more than enough and sending everyone home with bbq bags.

Preliminary conversation has led me to believe that I will be doing less time intensive foods such as ribs, chicken, and sausages.

What do you experienced caterers have for suggestions in terms of cost per person (only looking to break even, don't want any profits from this) and portions in order to ensure that I have enough food.

I figured we could make sure there's at least 1/2 of food per person, and to be sure we can get extra chicken as that's probably the cheapest of the three just to prevent running out of food.

I would like to have the ribs be the main attraction and have enough so that each person can have at least 3 each.

I will be cooking on site, I've already secured transportation. I have enough knives, cutting boards, temperature monitors, and food containers. What other items would be advisable to acquire? All of my cooks in the past have been out of my home base, or very close by.

Any general advise in this area would be greatly appreciated. Thanks !

Sounds like a fun gig, Jeremiah.