Calling Vernon N, Engineers and Mathematicians.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob O

TVWBB Pro
Hi folks. I'm gonna apologize ahead of time for sort of an eggheaded post but sometimes my mind gets wandering and I can't stop where it's headed. I've been thinking about this for a while so here's an idea for anyone who's interested.

The (very general) concept: Could it be possible to develop a mathematical model for the expected times and temperatures to cook BBQ within certain variance parameters? If so perhaps we could build a "BBQ cooking calculator."

Before you fall off your barstool backward laughing:

In simpler terms how many times have you seen a post that says " I'm cooking a (name the meat and poundage) it's currently at XXX degrees. How long or how much longer should it take to cook? And how many times do you see answers that vary by as much as 60 to 70 % per pound?

I'm an economist by training but haven't practiced it for a while. So my math's a little rusty. As a cook I know there are lots of variables to be defined here.

But, spoken as an economist
icon_wink.gif
, assume we could define the proper variables and had sufficient data. As such shouldn't it be possible to define a probablistic model for how long it should take to cook a particular type of meat given certain starting temperatures and other relevant conditions?

What I'm proposing is if we could get the variables defined properly perhaps we could start a project to get people to post relevant data, perform the proper analysis, and possibly build a calculation engine.

I'm sure I'm going to take my share of razzing for this post and I understand why. But, if there's any interest out there it could be an interesting project for a few of us and if we're successful it might actually be useful to a lot of us.

Thanks for humoring me.