Calling all spare ribs experts

Jason B

TVWBB Fan
Hey folks...

My wife accidentally purchased spare ribs instead of baby back loin ribs.

I figured what better opportunity to try something new. I cut them "Kansas City Style" after looking at Chris' article.

Well couple questions:

1) will they cook about the same time wise as loin backs since they're now similiar in size after I trimmed them down or is the meat type what makes it a longer cook?

2) After I trimmed everything I had 3 big hunks of sternum meat with fingery bones inside the meat. I trimmed that down further to make some "strips" which I'm cooking as a snack. BUT seems like all that meat on the sternum itself which now resembles a big ole' rib is a waste not to cook. Do you guys generally cook these things as their own ribs?

Thanks
-J

I'm far from an expert, but I usually leave them whole, and deal with the cartlidge/bones. I think most people do tend to cook the the St. Louis style trimmed a bit longer than BB's, mostly becuse there is still more meat on them, even though they may look about the same.

As for the sternum meat, definately cook it. Use your same rub as ribs, it's just a bit more difficult to eat with the cartlidge.

I cook spares almost exclusively as opposed to BBs so maybe I can't give you the best comparison. The spare rib comes from lower down on the hog so, imo, the meat probably would be a little tougher than up near the back area. So, I believe a longer cook for the spare will be required no matter how you trim them. I also do the St Louis trim.

Without using foil, my spares take 7 to 8 hours to be tender. If I use foil for 45 min. to an hour at the 3.5 hr mark and then finish unfoiled, they take 5 to 6. Test doneness with a toothpick between the bones. It is important to cook for some period out of the foil after you foil in order to firm up the meat.