brisket questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I smoked a whole brisket yesterday. The point was delicious and moist. The same could not be said for the flat. It was dry and I'm wondering if I made a mistake. 190 degF is considered well done for beef. However,various sources say to pull the brisket out at 205-210 degF. Why? When I inserted a thin metal skewer into the brisket side at 190 degF, it slid in quite easily. I was tempted to pull the brisket off, but I let it cook until 198 degF, about an hour more. What is your technique for determining when to pull a whole brisket off?
Should I have used the Texas crutch and civered the flat while the point cooked some more? Should I butcher the flat and point sections and smoke them separately?

Hi Roy,
I am no expert at brisket, but I usually pull my brisket once they reach about 190. And I always take the temperature reading in the flat end, not the point. The fat in the point can give you a false reading. No two briskets are the same, so not all of them will be done at 190, but most of them are. The probe sliding in real easy was a good sign that it was done, unless it was in fat. You can also tell if a brisket is done by using the fork twist method to test the resistance. If the cooking fork twists through the meat easily, it's done.

As far as internal temps go the thing you have to figure in is the cut you are cooking.
Leans cuts of beef would be very well done at 190?
but a tough chunk of beef like a brisket has to be taken to higher temps. A sirloin roast would be burned up at 190? internal but a brisket can be ready from about 185? on the low end to 205? on the high end. The difference for this is the amount of fat in the brisket.
If you use a probe (like the probe on a Polder) and insert it into flat and feels tender then pull
the brisket, that could be anytime once the internal temp reaches 185? or higher. If you leave it on too long then it starts to dry out.