Brisket question

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I'm brand new to this board so please forgive my elementary question. Anyway, I just bought a SMC and was wondering if there was a defined set of standard do's and don'ts when smoking a brisket. There seems to be many posts on brisket but as a novice I can't seem to get a clear picture of the whole process. Are there are definitive rules to this?

Things such as
What should be the targeted internal temp be
Where should temp be measured
What should smoking chamber temp be
What is the ideal brisket size (weight)
How long to cook per pound
Should I wrap in foil for part of cooking process, if so, for how long

I'm totally in the dark and plan to try a brisket tonight (midnight cook)

I would appreciate any help I can get.

Hi Mike and welcome. LOTS of GREAT info on these boards to be found. Begin by looking at the Brisket - Midnight Cook page for the answers to most of your questions.

What should be the targeted internal temp be - 185*
Where should temp be measured - thickest part
What should smoking chamber temp be - 225-250*
What is the ideal brisket size (weight) - mine are usually 8-12lbs.
How long to cook per pound - 1 to 1.5 hours
Should I wrap in foil for part of cooking process, if so, for how long - I do not, until I take it off. If you need to speed up the cook for some unusual reason, foiling it will help it along.

But like I said, most of these answers came from the above link Good luck! /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hello mike!! I enjoy a 5 to 6 pund brisket.. Make sure it has a layer of fat on it. i have used a texas style rub with kosher salt, chile powder, sugar and ground pepr.. email me if you want he rub.. smoke it 250 to 275 degrees for 5 to 8 hours... depending in the heat... good luck