Brisket HELP!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

Hello everyone,

I've been using my Bullet for a couple years now with varied success. One thing I have not got right is the brisket.

I've followed quite a few recipes with no success.
I've since started to practice on smaller 2-3 lb briskets. Flat cut with descent fat cap.
Still no luck. The meat is still very tough and chewy.
How long should I smoke a 2 lb brisket? I tried 4-5 hrs with 2 lbs and good temps with no luck.
Should I go longer? Wrap in foil? Cook lower (200-225)?
Someone please help!

Thanks!

Hi,
I have done the following with great repeatable success. Regardless of size.

Fat side down 220°-225°
Cook to 160°. Double wrap with foil and some beef broth mixed with a little worcestershire sauce. Back on the smoker cook to 190°.

Place in a pre-heated dry cooler for 2 to 4 hours. 4 is best.

Slice and enjoy.

Al

We really need detail on what your doing.

Time in cooker doesn't have much to do with anything. It's internal temp. You need to let the meat rest after cooking.

I cook at 225-250º. Cook until meat reaches 190º Wrap in foil and let it REST not cook in oven/cooler for an hour.

Mark,

If its tough and chewy, theres good chance that you haven't cooked it to a high enough temperature. It needs to be around 190 or so, but even that doesn't mean it'll be tender, it may need to go higher even. A thermometer inserted into the flat (across the grain was a suggestion made to me once) should glide in and out easily.

Foil as Al has suggested should help maintain moistness.

I have no experience cooking pieces of brisket that small. Seems like they'd be subject to drying a bit.

One final thought, make sure your slicing across the grain of the meat. Sometimes the way the smaller pieces are cut can lead you astray.

Mark--