Brisket and dropping temps

• Thread starter Thread starter Barry
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Barry

I started smoking a 5lb brisket at 8am this morning. Since 11am the temp of the meat has dropped from 165 to 159. Is this normal? I have kept the smoker temp between 220 and 250. Right now it is at 246.

Thanks

Yep, that's cuz the "magic" is happening! The fat is being rendered, which consumes heat energy. This is the BEST part of the smoke, and will ensure you have a nice, tender brisket. Yer doin' fine.

Thanks Susan. Thought it was just wanted to make sure. BTW, what does your latin signature mean?

Mine? Well, keep in mind that I'm just a beginner myself, but I've done briskets starting with my first cook and had (knock on wood) great luck with them thus far.

My first brisket was a 8.5 lbs or so, and I trimmed ALOT of the fat off (so it was 1/2 inch thick all around.) Since then, my family has BEGGED me not to trim the fat because it's their favorite part! So now I don't do it at all. Plus...lately I've run into small flats with hardly enuff fat on them as is. So sometimes, if I'm doing butts, I'll trim some of that fat and lay it on top of the brisket for the first half of the cook.

I use a dry rub, either the one in the cooking section here under 'overnight brisket' or lately I've used the texasbbqrub.com rubs---both #1 but more recently #2. They're both quite tasty! I rub 'em either right before they go on, or an hour or two in advance, or one time I think I did it overnight. I haven't noticed a remarkable difference either way, so I try to do the 1 hour thing.

Then I slap 'em on there, fat side up---ideally on the bottom grate, with butts above to lend in the basting process. At the halfway points, I spray 'em with apple juice, and flip 'em.