Boston butt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleatus H

TVWBB Member
I'm at the five hour mark with my 2 three pound Butts. This is my first attempt for pulled pork and everything is going fine. The internal meat temp is at 165 right now and the lid has been steady at 250 for 3.5 hours. The WSM is freaking me out, I keep going to check the temp and it's always the same. This was not the case with my chargriller offset I tried to use for two years. I had to screw with that thing every 30 minutes at least. I was considering getting a Klose offset but now I can save my money.

I did a 6 pound pork (picnic) shoulder last week and was pretty pleased with it. However, I was surprised that it was a little on the dry side (not too bad ... I just expected it to be more juicy). The WSM was pretty consistent at 250 degrees for the first 4 hours. Then 5 more hours about that same temp ... never more than 265 degrees.

When I put the thermometer in at the 4 hour mark I was surprised that the shoulder was already at 170 degrees. I cooked it for another 5 hours until it reached about 205 degrees.

While the flavor was great, i would have liked it to have been more juicy. Any recommendations as to what I can do to maintain a juicier result?

Well, at the 6.5 hour mark the internal temp was at 175. I got a little impatient and wrapped the butts in foil. The temp went to 190 in about an hour. The results were good but not quite as juicy and tender as I expected. I think I should have not wrapped them and just waited it out. I figure it may have taken another couple hours to get to 190 without the foil. Could this have been the difference??