Any advice on keeping the temp low in my relatively new WSM?

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

Hi,

I am a Newbie to WSM. I have had my cooker for about a month now. Everything coming off of it so far has been very good though I think can be improved when I get a little more experience and skill.

I only have 5 cooks under my belt and my cooker still seems to be running hot. I am thinking I am using too much lit charcoal at the beginning.

I am curious how much coal others are using for their cooks.

Here is some background.

Of my limited set of cooks, three were of the low and slow variety, two pairs of BB ribs on two separate occasions and one pork butt.

I use the Minon Method for the fire, burning Rancher charcoal. I use a full water pan.

Even with all three bottom vents closed, I had been using the top vent to regulate temp. After spending some time here, I found out that it should be left wide open as much as possible to minimize creosote build up (which I definitely tasted in my previous cooks, though it was not too bad).

Last night we were having BB ribs and I wanted to keep the top vent open the entire time. I did not count specifically the number of briquettes I used but I figure about 1/3 of a Weber chimney full of hot coals on a bed of fresh coals. I had fought temperate with my pork butt last week so I knew I wanted to start out these ribs with much less than a chimney’s worth of lit coal. It was also a warm day here in the San Jose area.