60 hour pass. 2 butts, 2 slabs, 1 brisket

Status
Not open for further replies.

Art R

TVWBB Super Fan
Oh the possibilities.

Thinking of doing the butts and ribs on Saturday. Haven't decided on rubs/sauces yet.

I am intrigued by slathers/wet rubs. Wondering if a tomato paste based wet rub would work ok on the ribs. Will probably cut them into 2 sections each and experiment.

For the butts, I think I'll do a mustard based slather and add the Salt Lick clone rub from the rubs forum.

I was in Tennessee last weekend and picked up some Wicker's baste/sauce. It's darned spicy so I might cut it with some apple juice and use it as a baste on some the q.

As for brisket, I am a complete novice, but I did buy a 10.5 lb one from Westbrook Market in Westmont, IL today. It cost 1.89 per lb. Is that good. I'll be doing this on Sunday.

For woods, I'm thinking of pecan (pellets) and hickory for the pork. Beef...not sure...I need some help here folks.

Having fun with my WSM. A hobby, even a passion, may lead me to obsession, always a good and tasty meal.

Thanks for any input advice.

AR

Art, why not try some mesquite for the beef? Use it in moderation as it is a strong flavor but I love it on everything(not popular here).

I have a 10lb packer on as we type and I paid $2.55/lb...so you did good on the price my man!! My pork butt was $1.60/lb and that's good here at the butcher. Can get it $.20 less at BJ's Wholesale Club!

Good luck!

Any ideas about a rub for the brisket? I was searching around last night for one. How many fist sized chunks of mesquite should I use.

Do you foil your brisket? Mine is a 10 pounder, but looks a bit too long to fit on my WSM. Any ideas on that?

First brisket and all.
icon_smile.gif

Art, I use the #2 brisket blend form the texasbbqrub.com website. Not sure what I'd do for homemade stuff.