1st time Brisket Questiions

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

Hey All,

How's it going??? I have a standard Weber charcoal grill and and a 4.5 pound brisket that I am plannig to cook up. Its my first time doing a brisket and I'm looking for some tried and true methods that I can use to get me on my way.

I've never done anything like this and as I understand I gotta go the slow route and smoke the meat, but I really dont know how to accomplish this.

I would really appreciate any insight you all can provide. Thanks in advance!!!

Wade

By standard grill, I'm assuming you mean a kettle. To cook low/slow in a kettle can be a challenge, but it can be done. You need to set up for indirect cooking. Fill your charcaol basket and then remove 6 from each. Light the 12 seperately and then put 1/2 on the top of the briqs in each basket. Put a drip pan between the baskets and fill with tap water. Put the meat on the grill over the water filled drip pan Put some type of therm through the top vent in the kettle. Leave the bottom vent in the kettle open till your lid temp approaches 200 and then begin to close it. The goal will be to attain and hold a temp in the range of 240 to 265 or so. It will require attention - that's why we have WSMs. You'll need to add a few coals along, probably and replenish your water. The water is acting as a heat sink to hold your temps down. Also, put a small chunk of smokewood in each basket. Use a meat therm and when you reach 165, remove the meat and wrap in HD foil after adding a little beef broth. Put it back on the grill and remove when meat temp is around 200.

Good luck with your cook.

Paul

Thanks for the reply, Paul. I'm defintely a mega-newbie here, so please forgive me.

I have the standard kettle jobber, but I'm not certain I know what you mean by a charcoal basket. I've always just arranged the coals on the bottom grates and burned away, but then again I've nevver slow-cooked anything before.