1st brisket !

Paul K

TVWBB Guru
Smoked my 1st brisket this weekend; it went very well. It's now Monday morning and it's half gone! I had ordered an eyelet assembly from bbqguru to hold a thermometer and it arrived Friday just in time. By cutting a cork in half, I sandwiched the thermo in place with the two pieces of cork; it worked great. The brisket was very tasty, but I'd like to have it just a tad bit juicier. I had a constant temp of right around 225 and pulled if off when the meat was about 185. I then foiled, toweled and let sit for a good three hours. Any recommendations on a moister brisket?

Thanks,

Paul

Paul,

Congratulations on your first brisket! I'm not an expert at BBQ by any stretch of the imagination, but I've experienced drier-than-expected brisket and actively sought solution. I finally settled upon a methodology that seems to have worked, so I've stuck with it. This methodology isn't unique to me, but a culmination of several methodolgies that I've seen or heard about that seem to make sense.

I have a remote thermometer (Maverick), so I have a fairly good idea when the internal temperature of the brisket has broken plateau (variable... but usually around 160 to 165). As soon as I see the temperatures begin to climb, indicative of breaking plateau, I remove the brisket from the WSM for a bit of preparation prior to foiling. At this point, I set the brisket on foil and apply the final sauce (if used). I also douse the brisket in the mop (if used). It's generally a mop or sauce or both... never nothing.