I know this is a bit higher temp than most people
recommend, but I'm interested in seeing whether
I can do a nice pulled pork w/o smoking
overnight.

I'll serve this on buns, using a vinegar-based
sauce, with cole slaw, collard greens, and
corn bread.

Since I'm new to the WSM and pulled pork, I
welcome comments/suggestions/recipes/etc!

-Richard

ps. I've read about the Minion method, but since
one goal is to start at 5am and eat by supper
time, I plan to start with 6lbs of charcoal
and add lit coals as needed, in hopes of
getting the meat going at 225-250F sooner.

Richard, Im my experiance you just cant rush good Q. I have never and I repeat never had a butt reach 195 - 200 in less than 15 hours @225 to 235 cooker temp. I do understand where your comming from though. Thats along time. I always start with a full charcoal ring. Minion method. With butts. You can adjust your heat higher if you want. I'm sure someone else will chime in here with more advice but that would be mine. Just cant rush it. /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I agree,my pulled pork, and I do ALOT of them, AVERAGES 20 hours, I always start @5:00 p.m. on saturday, using the minion meathod, let it go till 11:00p.m. add hot water, turn and baste go to bed and get up at 7: a.m. on sunday, stir coals add hot water, insert polder, turn and baste, adjust temps as necessary, and let it go until internals hit 170's. That is when the temperature plateu hits for hours due to fats rendering out and cooling meat. At this point, I'll foil and place back in cooker until it hits 190 - 195 internal. Then the time will be somewhere around 1:00p.m. Wrap in towels and place in an igloo cooler for what can be hours and it will stay warm as it rests. Then right before dinner time pull that pork and enjoy!!!

15 to 18 hrs at 250 deg has been my experience, too. The meat temp held around 165 deg for two to three hours before it started rising.