Stoneware for Pizzas?

I have the BGE stone (14", I think). I went with a smaller stone in the hope of getting more airflow and so higher temperatures on the top of the pizza.

In the end I see myself ending up with the BGE stone on the main grill and a Red Sky stone supported above it on a couple of firebricks (or the charcoal baskets) to provide extra heat to the top of the pizza. That would be a wicked system, I think...

I have my wife's ex-college apartment $10 Walmart stone because she got a Pampered Chef model for inside. No complaints and I've been using it for a few years.

Find a ceramic shop and get a kiln shelf. You can find many different sizes and shapes ranging from square, rectangle, round, and half-round. Most I ever paid was $20 for a 16 inch round. These things will take a LOT of heat!

Find a ceramic shop and get a kiln shelf. You can find many different sizes and shapes ranging from square, rectangle, round, and half-round. Most I ever paid was $20 for a 16 inch round. These things will take a LOT of heat!

That's a great first post. I hope I remember that when my Wally World stone finally gives up.

Welcome aboard!

Hello, thank you for the information. I googled kiln shelf in my zip code. Can you recommend a specific shelf material? So far, I see nitride bonded silica carbide, hi alumina & corelite. A specific brand of nitride bonded silica carbide kiln shelves says any amount of water in "Brand X" refractory components during the rapid heat-up process of the product may cause the product's surface to explode. "... the product must be completely dried before it is used at temperatures exceeding 212°F (100°C)."

Controlling moisture on a cooking surface can be a bit problematic.

I've had mine since 86. Picked it up at a local Italian grocery which specializes in Pizza making supply's. It's 16" round with raised legs, imported from Italy IIRC and was about 20 dollar.