Basic Self-Basting Turkey

So as i have said in other topics i am going to try a Turkey for Christmas this year. I was going to follow the basic Self-Basting Turkey guide under cooking topics for beginners.

The problem was that i wanted to find a Turkey that was 12 - 14 lbs. I couldn't find one that was on sale in that range. I ended up find a 17lbs turkey. I have seen other put Turkeys on the WSM that were 20lbs so i don't think i'll have an issue fitting the 17lbs turkey. Should i worry about anything other than adding extra time to the guide? I would assume its just going to take about 1 hour to 1 and half hours longer.

The guide also talks about not worrying about temp, but should i be shooting for around 300 degrees?

Also sorry for all the questions but i have never used a thermometer to cook with before and i am getting a E732 to use for this cook. Do i just stick it in the breast meat during the cook?

Thanks again for all your help.

Mike, I did a 14lb turkey for Thansgiving and it took approx. 3.5 hrs. I was not able to get it up to the 325 degree range but it did turn out excellent! Wasn't a huge fan of the skin, but I attribute that to the lower temps (275-320). Again, it still turned out great and was a huge crowd pleaser. Unlike the self-basting that you are using, I did the Jack Daniels Brine, which is located on this site and dried in the fridge for 12 hrs. I am doing a 18lb bird this Christmas, I liked it that much!

IMO, shooting for the 300 degree temp (or hotter) is good.

I used the same thermometer and placed it in the bird (breast) for the entire time...just make sure it is in the thickest portion and not touching bone. You'll do just fine! I am, by NO means, an experienced/expert smoker, but have used the kettle for some time now. Just watch your internal temps and intuition, it'll go just fine, I bet! Good luck.