Bacon - dry or wet cure

I'm in the process of making my first batch of bacon. I used a wet cure for 3 days and air drying in the fridge for 2. Plan on smoking them tomorrow. My next batch will be dry cured to compare.

I prefer dry curing for everything else but heard the wet cure was the way to go with bacon so it doesn't turn out too hammy post smoking.

I did take a slice off of one of the pieces and fried it. It tasted pretty darn good. Can't wait to see how the smoked version turns out.

Well im not an expert at all in doing bacon but i have on slab on the wsm right now.

I did a brine with pink salt for the first time. Dont think i can get that here in sweden but my friend Bob Corell sent me a bag from the US.

The fast 48 hour brine and 15h(to short) to dry it in the fridge(and another 1.5h at room temp under a fan to get it really dry)

The dry cure takes longer,but as i have read if you wanna add alot of extra flavour(spices) the dry one works the best.

But i still havent tryed the dry cure so i cant really give you an correct answer to this.

Jeff or Kevin know alot about the different techniques i guess they can help you sort things out.

I've only ever used dry cure for bacon. I've got 2 full bellies curing atm, one for panchetta and one cut into 3 slabs for regular bacon. I agree that with a dry cure you can add flavour pretty easily.Of the 3 slabs I'm making one slab plain, one with maple and brown sugar and one with a dry jerk seasoning. For the most part I've had good luck adding basic spices to a dry cure.

I think wet brines penetrate to the center more quickly for very thick pieces of meat. If I have a very thick belly, then I'm more inclined to use a wet cure; for standard or thinner than usual I prefer to use a dry brine.

As others have mentioned, they both have advantages. I've used both methods and can say that there is no decernable difference in the end product.