Re-light old coals, or start with all new every cook?

Tom Henderson

TVWBB Member
OK -- I'm a noob so please forgive a basic question.

After a cook, I close the vents and the fire dies. So... when I come out to cook the next time, there is a bed of partially-burned coals on the grate.

Should I load those into the chimney, top it off with new coals, and use that mix?

Or should I throw the old stuff out and start with all new?

Just wondering what the pros and cons are...

Thanks in advance. I learn a lot from every cook and everytime I visit this board.

-Tom in SoCal

PS -- I tried to post this topic earlier today but got an error message; if I end up with duplicate threads I hope the moderators can merge the threads.

The old coals will burn but they might fall through your chimney. I would just cover with new coals from the bag or chimney and proceed as normal.

I reuse partial coals all the time, my mini and I just found out my new to me 18.5 WSM are much more efficient then I thought. I get lots of unburned and partially burned coals. I place the old coals in a plastic bag and when I fire up the performer I place some new coals in the baskets and put the used ones on top. Same with the chimney, works great.
For the smokers I always start with fresh though.

Should I load those into the chimney, top it off with new coals, and use that mix?

Exactly the contrary. First the new then the old in the chimney.

I save my left over briquettes and put them in a bag. Depending on what I'm cooking next, I may or may not use them. If I've got a big cook coming up, I'll just keep the old ones stored, and start off fresh. The next small or fast cook I do, burgers, dogs, veggies, I'll break out the old ones and they'll usually give me 30 minutes of good heat.

I always cook indirect on the OTG so leftover coals get stirred over than a new bed gets laid on top.
Chimney also gets new charcoal, leftover coals seems a pita to me as far as sorting and adding them to a chimney.