Ash Sweep Maintenance

John_NJ

TVWBB Wizard
What if any is your maintenance on the charcoal ash sweep?

I have never owned a charcoal grill before the WSC, and it’s coming up to one year in use.

I am still learning about grill maintenance, and the ash sweep has always been on my radar, but until today I haven’t given it much attention.

Here is what I found
IMG_6748.jpeg
So I decided to give it some attention

IMG_6758.jpeg
IMG_6760.jpeg

That’s a great job on it. I typically don’t take the sweep apart to clean it. I try and deep clean mine maybe once per yearon high usage grills This is just to get ash/soot/grease buildup clean on the sweep and the bowl. That buildup is what locks down the sweep or bends the fins which causes leaks.

Seriously stellar cleanup. What method and products did you use? I’m due for a deep clean on mine before winter hits.

. That buildup is what locks down the sweep or bends the fins which causes leaks.
I always have some “Fins” in storage as a back-up as I needed to replace them a couple of times over the last ten(10) years on two(2) different Weber Kettles.

Seriously stellar cleanup. What method and products did you use? I’m due for a deep clean on mine before winter hits.
I had some time yesterday afternoon before grilling, and decided to try and clean the sweeps.

What should have been a relatively easy removal was not happening. There was gunk between the sweeps and hardware that was getting in the way.

This morning I had time for a more methodical approach.

I removed the snap jet and lifted the bowl from the stand. Once the bowl was upside down, I had better leverage and was able to remove the ash sweep.

The ash sweep was encrusted in hardened grease, so I boiled the parts in some water and white vinegar. They cleaned up easily.

I couldn’t pass on the opportunity to clean the bowl since there were no obstructions. Getting the grate holders out took a little effort. Once removed, they went into the hot water vinegar also.