Weber Genesis 1000 Restoration Advice

Nick-US

Hi everyone,

I purchased a Weber Genesis 1000 off of Craigslist for $30 and want to restore it as best as I can. Now, I am a graduate student in college living in a 1 bedroom apartment so I don't have a lot of space or tools to be using. Also, I'd like to try to restore it for as cheaply as possible, although I'm prepared to purchase some things it needs.

First, I'm going to repaint the frame and clean out the inside of the grill. From what I've read online I can get high temperature spray paint, Easy Off Oven Cleaner, Simple Green, and a wire brush and this should probably do a good job of cleaning the inside of the grill box and repainting the frame and the outside of the box. What I am not familiar with is the best way to disassemble this grill. As you can see in the pictures (album below) the screws are rusted and I'm not exactly sure which ones I should remove. I think I'd like to take the red grill head off, take out the large, deep grill box and remove everything else so that I can just spray paint the frame. The cleaning/repainting should be fairly straightforward. I'm just worried about taking the grill apart and putting it back together.

As for the second part of the process, I need to purchase some parts. I know I need new flavorizer bars so that will be one of the things I'm purchasing. I am not sure if I need new burners or not. Maybe I can just clean them and keep using the ones I have. Also, the knob for the back burner does not turn anymore. I'd like to be able to use all of the burners, so someone said I might have to buy an entire new manifold assembly. I also know I need a new hose that connects to the propane tank. That just about covers it I think. I'd like to avoid purchasing new burners for now, but if they aren't in good shape then I will purchase new ones.