The Best Way Sear

R.Graves

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I have been reading posts though, for the past couple of months, mostly in the BBQ section. I have a question that I was not able to answer by searching through the Bulletin Board. The question is, What is the best way to sear? I was planning on doing a reverse sear on a ribeye tomorrow night. So far I know of, using a portable infared searer, which go for 300 bucks on Ebay, some people say the Hibatchi grill works pretty good that goes for about a 100, I have a WSM and could sear next to the coals,I have a cheap gas grill, which I think can get up to 500 degrees full blast and there is the oil in the skillet method. So what method would be the best or is there another method I don't know about? I would really like to improve my steak making abilities. Was planning on using this recipe I found on here:

For the butter: mix 1/4c (1/2 stick) unsalted, softened butter, 1T minced chipotle chiles in adobo, 1t brown sugar, and 1/4t kosher salt.

For the rub: 2t kosher salt, 1 1/2t ancho chile powder, 1t unsweetened cocoa powder, 1/2t ground black pepper, and 1/2t brown sugar

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

Ryan,

Welcome to the board!

If you mean a ribeye steak a reverse sear is probably not the best way to cook it unless it's very thick (over 1.5") - ribeyes have a ton of internal fat that needs to render out, that doesn't happen in the short time it takes to cook a thinner steak with reverse sear's low temperatures. I assume you mean a ribeye steak because you talk about your "steak making abilities."

Reverse sear works great for leaner cuts of steak like thick sirloins or top round roast/"london broil." Personally I think a ribeye does best being cooked fast over high heat, with some flame-kissed flavor from the dripping fat flaring up.