Suggestions for small volume, weekday grilling

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shantanu Sharma

Folks

I need some tips on grilling small amount of food. I want to use the Weber Performer on a regular basis but rarely have to grill more than a 4 chicken thighs or drumsticks or a whole fish. I'm new to grilling and so far I've followed directions and lit up 50 briquettes for a 22" grill and done my small volume grilling. I have had a hard time controlling the temperature and have learnt that burnt meat isn't the same as grilled meat. Should I light fewer briquettes? How do I bring down the temperature from the initial 550+ to say 400 in a relatively short amount of time.

I could of course grill more and have left over but I guess I want to "optimize" the process to the right amount of briquettes and time.

I'd appreciate any and every suggestions from the gurus on this forum.

Dont be obsessed w/ the thermo temp on the lid. You will learn how much coal to use overtime. You can have different "zone" fires by how the coals are arranged/stacked. I really reccommend watching some of Jamie Purviance videos. You can go the the weber site and find them through there. I think its "weber nation" or something. But they are very informitive. I would also pick up Webers book, the art of cooking with live fire (I think thats the title) Dont get discouraged, practice...read on this forum. But again...Id watch the videos on webers site...very good

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">How do I bring down the temperature from the initial 550+ to say 400 in a relatively short amount of time. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
You don't, but I am not sure why you would want to. I cook small amounts on a 22" all the time. If I really want lower heat I simply use less lit to start. But for something like chicken thighs (and numerous other items) I don't want low heat. I'm quite pleased with temps over 500?.