Roadside Chicken questions for a Rookie

Ok, So i only have 2 cooks in on my OTG. I have done steaks and chicken breasts. I did the chicken indirect the whole time with a crisp at the end. I have been reading about roadside chicken and i would love to give it a try. i am still new at grilling on the kettle and i know you are supposed to do all your cooking with the lid on. But it sounds like you leave the lid off on the roadside chicken cook unless the flames get out of control. Is this correct? are you shooting for around a 45 minute cook with the lid off turning and basting around every 5 minutes or longer?

Thanks for any info you have on this as i want this to be my next cook on the weekend.

The marinade is very flammable so you will be putting the lid on a lot. I usually start it direct basting and flipping every few minutes and then move it indirect to finish cooking once I have it crisped up a bit. If your going direct the whole time it won't take 45 minutes to finish unless your not using many coals. Make sure you have long tongs or a glove on or you'll burn all the hair off your hand.

I think your current chicken method will work fine for the roadside chicken. I'm new to this recipe too(a few weeks ago) and your method is how I've done it too. The only thing you(and I) are missing out on doing on an all direct cook is the juice and marinade constantly dripping onto the coals and producing that great smelling smoke flavor. Next time I do roadside on my kettle I'm going to try to go back and forth so I get some of that flavor but still have my indirect area to protect the chicken from getting too charred.

Another option which I tried for the first time this past weekend is to use the WSM for the roadside chicken and take out the water pan. The drippings were constantly hitting the coals and I didn't have to worry about flare ups. My only mistake is I didn't ramp the temp up enough at the end to get it quite crispy enough but it was still very good.