Ordered new Guru today

matt west

Just ordered a new Guru DigiQ II today. I've been Egging for 7 years with no Auto Temp Control and can not wait to try the Guru out. The thought of actually being able to sleep during a low and slow was the main selling point. Sure I’ll have some tech questions for you seasoned Auto Temp Cont guru's when it arrives.

Thanks..The main reasons I picked the Guru over the Stoker was its ease of use. I’m a plug and play kind of guy and don’t to worrying about bridge connectors and Ethernet and connect ability ect. The only reason I strongly considered the Stroker was its ability to monitor more than one food. That feature could come in handy but at the end of the day I went with a system I felt most comfortable with. Hope that answers your question.

Well, actually I'm already a happy Guru owner. The ATCS section has more Stoker traffic implying that there it is a more popular choice for an ATCS. Of course it could also imply that there are more problems with the unit(just kidding of course).

Just trying to keep the playing field equal.

You will love the Guru! I have a Stoker and I love it. I suppose the Stoker has more posts because so0me of its features rely on computer networking...but networking is not required to use the Stoker. Most of the posts are not related to the Stoker doing its thing, but rather how to get the network to work. The ones who do get it all working together don't post except to help others. In all, both units work extremely well at maintaining a steady temperature and they both have their place. I am seriously considering a Guru just to have ATC at my summer place. Of course, I need another WSM as well!

Russell, I bet you knew you'd drag a happy Stoker user out of lurking!
icon_biggrin.gif