Hello from Redmond WA - Question on 2013 Genesis E 330 NG

GLandon

Hi Everyone, my name is George and I am new to Weber grilling and I am also unexpectingly new to Refurbishing a Weber Grill. So I moved from LV area recently and purchased a home, as a retiree I could be close to family. Previous seldom use Char Broil stayed with the LV home. So needing a grill I purchased (probably overpaid, $300) for the mentioned grill. I have purchased all new internal parts and I am fairly confident that I am up to the task of cleaning and installing the parts. What I'm not as confident about is how to deal with the rusted lid liner. My understanding is that while it serves a purpose it isn't all that necessary for a non-stainless lid and that no one makes a replacement liner.

So now my questions - can I remove the liner by taking off the external lid parts - starting with the chrome bands held with allen wrench screws, then the thermo and logo? Also, Would it be easier to just have someone cut out the liner with some sort of metal cutting tool? And third - am I missing any key points? Thanks and I appreciate your collective advise! PS - I don't expect to be a heavy user and I would like the grill to last me for the long run. 1696351733707.png

Welcome George.

You have a few options:

Disassemble the lid completely and reassemble without the liner. It won’t affect the function of the lid.

Cut out the rusted section if not too big. If the liner doesn’t sag you should be ok for awhile.

Cover over the liner’s rusted section with non galvanized iron based sheet metal. That would require some metal working skills.

Look for a free or low priced grill on craigslist or Facebook and salvage the lid

Try to register to grill with Weber to see if you can get warranty coverage. If metal flakes are falling onto your food that might be considered for replacement. Weber has replaced lids in the past so the worst they could say is no.

Welcome, George!