Cyber Q II Software Modifications

Steve Roxberg

TVWBB Member
The BBQ Guru was kind enough to let me have a copy of their source code for CyberQ II interface.

In a past life I was a programmer so I'm treating this as a hobby project to modify their code to better suit my needs.

I have drawn out a plan that I believe will allow me to modify their program to allow remote control of the unit from cell phones and remote computers.

I am starting with small changes and will progress to more major changes as I become familiar with the code.

The first change that I made was to the e-mail function. The current version sends an e-mail but the values for pit 1 and pit two are intermixed as shown below and I found that annoying since I currently only use one pit

Old e-mail format was like this:

Food1 Temp: 71
Food2 Temp: ---
Food1 Setpoint: 190
Food2 Setpoint: 185
Pit1 Temp: 226
Pit2 Temp ---
Pit1 Setpoint: 225
Pit2 Setpoint: 200
Fan1: 0
Fan2: 0
Cook1 Timer: 00:00
Cook2 Timer: 00:00

Since I only use only pit at this time I have changed the e-mail to display as follows.

Food1 Temp: 71
Food1 Setpoint: 190
Pit1 Temp: 226
Pit1 Setpoint: 225
Fan1: 0
Cook1 Timer: 00:00

If the second pit is being used it will display in the same order as above but underneath the pit1 info.

I would love suggestions of other folks on items they would like to see changed. Items I've thought of so far.

1. Change order of e-mail and make pit 2 information contional. Done
2. Modify code to allow remote update from any web enabled device that can read and update a SQL database.
3. Clean up the main display so that if one Pit is being used it's cleaner.
4. Allow setting to be saved and recalled. Example, I always want my pork should to cook at 230 and the meat to warn me at 195. Basically would allow you to set all items and then save the settings with a unique name for later recall. I could see saving setting for Brisket, Pork Shoulder Ribs.