Can't seem to get it hot enough, what am I doing wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry N

I'm brand new to grilling. I grilled my second meal just now and had the same problem I did with the first. I can't seem to get the grill hot enough. The first time, I used the char baskets and today I tried to use the two zone fire. I started with a chimney full of lump charcoal, but by the time it ashed over it was reduced to a little over half the chimney. (normal?) I put the coals in and started cooking chicken thighs and onions. The temperature dropped to below 300, so I added more lump. Everything cooked through, (though with extra time) the temperature read about 300-350 for most of the grilling, but I can't seem to get the crispy bits or grill marks. What am I doing wrong? I'm sure more coal makes it hotter, but isn't a chimney full of coal about what I'm supposed to use?

Are all your vents open (top and bottom)? I had a friend that had the same problem and that was his issue. He was new to charcoal and thought that, like a gas grill, you put the lid down (vents closed) to get the heat up. With charcoal it's almost the exact opposite. More air = higher heat.

I don't use lump so I can't answer about that for you.

A fully packed Weber sized chimney gets me 600*
Are there a lot of small pieces or are you letting it burn too long in the chimney?

Hmmm...not sure. 15 minutes? The color of my chimney has changed. It turned a lighter shade of gray in the middle. Bad sign?

Okay, not lighter, darker. The middle of my chimney is a darker gray now with a thin edging of lighter gray before it returns to the original color on the top and bottom. Is this normal or am I somehow burning it too hot in the chimney?

Quote: I started with a chimney full of lump charcoal, but by the time it ashed over it was reduced to a little over half the chimney. (normal?)

You may have let it go way too long in the chimney. When I get flames out of the top I pour it on.