analog vs digital control

Jason H.

TVWBB Member
All,

I am a controls engineer and, once I pick up my first wsm in a month or two, I want to make my own forced air system. Most of the systems I have found online are digital (ie fan is on or off) but I was thinking of making mine analog with an analog output from my plc going to a dc motor control board going to the fan. Has anyone tried analog control and seen a performance difference between that and digital?

Also it seems to me that with a fan going in there (I am going to find a 5 cfm fan as suggested on various sites for the 18" wsm) you would get ashes blown up on the food. As there are pretty much no complaints on this that I have been able to find, can anyone explain to me why this doesn't happen?

The homebrew thread describes a Arduino based controller that uses PwM to modulate the fan speed beyond on/off. It works really well.

James

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by j ostheim:
The homebrew thread describes a Arduino based controller that uses PwM to modulate the fan speed beyond on/off. It works really well.

James </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

James - I was on the Arduino site and I couldn't find a description of what their modules do. Am I web challenged :-)

Curt

j and Curt,

Curt, for more info on pwm just google "arduino pwm" and it gives you a good description of pulse width modulation.