First Build Questions and Project log

T. Stinnett

It all started last year when I got the bug to build a low buck UDS to smoke with. As with most DIY hobbies, it's went through continuous upgrades/modifications. The natural progression in the obsession is a PID smoker controller. Researching the "ready to run" options, and then the DIY industrial PID setups I stumbled across Brian's original solution using the Linksys router running openwrt. Needless to say for the money, the current HM4 appears to be the most feature rich and budget friendly solution for the DIY crowd who like to roll their own solutions.

I have just ordered the parts list from Mouser, board from OSH Park, and the Ebay Varitronix 4x20 LCD that others seem to be very happy with. This is my first build and I am trying to determine which rPi I should purchase.
I've scoured the forums for setup info for rPi Model "A" an see limited info on configuring wireless from the command line.
I see a few posts stating "Just log in and `wifi-client (params)` and `wifi start`" but I also see mention of editing the network config directly from the console using the vi editor. Looking for feedback.

So for those of you that have used both. "A" or "B"?

Pro's/Con's
The difference in price will pretty much buy the wireless adapter.
The "B" would allow further expandability as a media center/wired network appliance/tinker toy
initial configuration - not as easy as going through the wired connection but how hard can it be?
A's power consumption is said to be a 1/3 of the B (plus for me as I envision a mobile setup, as I have some 12v SLA batteries I can borrow from the kids Power Wheels)

A few other questions:
Mouser is out of stock on the 4-way switch, anyone know of another provider and does anyone see any issues with temporarily omitting it from the build while on backorder?