NOOB question on temperature control

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rick M

I'm new to charcoal grilling and just bought the 18.5" OTS. Their directions/manual that came with it is rather vague.

For direct cooking it says to use about 40 briquettes across the bottom of the grate. OK; I got that. Now when it says to cook something (like a hamburger for instance), it says to use direct medium heat.

How do I control the heat to medium. Would this be to simply open the bottom vents 1/2 way? How about the top vent? Does this always stay fully open?

I appreciate any information I can get
icon_smile.gif

Thanks,

Rick M.

I'm somewhat new but my opinion would be that if you put a thermometer thru the holes in the lid it shoud be between 300-350 degrees for medium.

Also, when you get flare ups (and putting the lid on doesn't extinguish the flames) don't hesitate to move them away from the coals and cook them indirect heat.

If you can hold your hand above the lit coals at cooking height about 4-5 seconds the heat is considered medium. This is for grilling. For roasting a therm through the vent, as J notes, will tell you what your cooktemp is.