Brine?

Mickey

TVWBB Member
I'm trying to ride a balance b/t this awesome opportunity to ask grilling/smoking questions, but also not being a pain in the saddle.
icon_smile.gif

Jamie, truthfully, do you brine? As a cookbook author, I'm sure you HAVE to cover the subject - but do you actually do it when cooking for your family? Reason I ask: Did two rotisserie chickens, one brined overnight, and the other no brine. As soon as I took them off, my wife and I tasted 'em and couldn't discern a difference so I sort-of thought it's not worth all the effort (and drying the skin so it will be crispy, etc.).

Also, another brining question if I may: My buddy and I have debated this (and he's probably following your discussions so I have to present this fairly, dang it). He buys a packaged corned beef (packed in brining liquid), and then brines the sucker for 4-5 days before simmering for something like 5 hours. I just don't understand the logic of brining an already-brined brisket, but he insists it produces the best corned beef ever. Does this make any sense to you? Would it be worthwhile to brine a packaged corned beef?

Thanks again, Jamie, for sharing your expertise with us!

Mickey,

Truthfully, I do brine ... sometimes, but not often. Brining is an awesome technique for really lean meats (like chicken breasts, which you can brine successfully in a matter of minutes) and long-cooked meats (like pork roasts), but I only brine when I really need to. That is, if I am throwing a party where the food has to be off-the-charts good and juicy, I'll spend the time and effort to brine. But for a regular Wednesday night dinner, like tonight, I don't brine. Tonight I'll be smoking some chicken on the rotisserie -- without a brine. I know that will the right seasonings, the right cooking temperatures, and the right amount of smoke, the chicken will be delicious. Having said that, one of the best rotisserie chicken I've ever tasted was brined. You can see it here: