What causes rubbery chicken skins?

Tom Henderson

TVWBB Member
I'm a noob trying to improve his skills so I hope you won't mind a basic chicken grilling question.

Last night I grilled bone-in chicken pieces. Cut up the ~5 LB bird, then washed and dried the pieces. No rubs oils or other prep.

Preheated the grill (Older Spirit 310) on high for ~10 min.

Pieces were cooked on direct medium for two minutes a side to sear, then indirect medium (med/off/med) until 180F internal temps. Applied Chris & Pitts bbq sauce for the last 5 min or so.

Total cook time was about 35 min.

The meat was ok (done but not over-done). Not as juicy as I would like but OK.

The skin was really rubbery... And I was wondering what I might have done to cause that, or if it was just a tough bird.

In the past, I just did chicken on direct/med until done, without any sear or indirect and no meat thermometer. Results were highly variable as you might expect.

I also used to put the sauce on throughout the cooking instead of just at the end. Often it would burn(not good) but the skin was crisper and not rubbery.

Any comments or criticisms for the noob?

-Tom in SoCal

Sounds to me like You need to cook it longer and hotter. High heat means crisp skin. Next time do the opposite of this cook...start out medium indirect until the it hits 160 or so....then crank the heat and put the meat right on the flame. Don't sauce it either....leave it dry til it's cooked.Sear it good and cook it to your desired IT ( (for me it's 170) I think maybe you'll like the skin better. If you want to add sauce do it as the chicken is resting.

edit; ok I'm rereading your post now and seeing some stuff I missed. A whole chicken bone in and all that...I think 180 might be a bit high for the breast but you know what you like. I do 165 in the breast and shoot for 165-170 in legs and wings. Thighs are very forgiving so you have wiggle room there.