Weber Q1200 flame too high

Natasha T

Hello. Newbie here. I purchased a Q1200 second hand. It came with a couple of 5 lb tanks and hose. I gave it a good cleaning, fired it up and discovered the dreaded low flame. I removed the regulator attached. I purchased a hose with the regulator at the tank end. I got 3 piece hardware fitting set up. Now all I get is high flame. And when I ignite (when the igniter works) it’s like fire ball. Is this because I took off the regulator at the unit? Is there a fix for this?

There is a CORRECT way to remove the built in regulator on the little Q grills and use it with a large tank just like the Q3XXX series grills. IDK where the thread is (I think Bruce made it), I've done it before even this forum myself but another story. Not sure if Bruce will see this (or whoever was kind enough to write it up) and maybe put a link for you and perhaps Chris can make it a sticky for the Q section. The smaller Q grills have so much trouble with the regulator using them with larger tanks it should be a sticky

Y
There is a CORRECT way to remove the built in regulator on the little Q grills and use it with a large tank just like the Q3XXX series grills. IDK where the thread is (I think Bruce made it), I've done it before even this forum myself but another story. Not sure if Bruce will see this (or whoever was kind enough to write it up) and maybe put a link for you and perhaps Chris can make it a sticky for the Q section. The smaller Q grills have so much trouble with the regulator using them with larger tanks it should be a sticky
Thanks. I followed the instructions from another post on this forum. Same instructions by a few people on YouTube. 3 different fittings hex, coupling etc.

Y

Thanks. I followed the instructions from another post on this forum. Same instructions by a few people on YouTube. 3 different fittings hex, coupling etc.