Turkey Rub Ideas??????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt J

TVWBB Fan
Any good ideas for turkey rubs. Going to pick up a 15-18lb bird at the meat market when I get off work in the morning and smoke it on Sat late morning. Any suggestions. Looking for a few good ideas. So far I have smoked a variety of beef, pork, and chicken but this is my first turkey. Going to smoke it in the 350deg range. Figure it to take around 3-4 hours to get to safe temp for turkey. Bring on the suggestions.

Hi Matt,

Before you think I'm nuts take a look at this recipe:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/recipe_views/views/4366

Don't rub it. Brine it then smoke it. Or at 350 degrees I guess what you're really doing is roasting it.

I've done this turkey recipe on my Genesis about 50 times. My family/friends/neighbors won't let me cook any other turkey.

I'm new to the WSM but it should transition pretty easily.

Figured going with a higher temp would get it done before it drys out. Have never heard of doing a turkey at 225-250. Has anyone tried it.

As for recipe. Thanks.........it looks good. Might have to give it a try. Now I just have to come up with what to serve with the bird. Gonna do something besides the old turkey accompanyments...just don't know what yet.

Thanks.

Matt,

I think injection is the key to an awesome trukey. I use 6 oz. grapefruit juice & 10 oz.Italian dressing with some Old Bay added."strain before injecting" I use this amount for a 12# turkey. Then smoke at 235 untill done. I like to use oak/apple/pecan/hickory for the smoke wood. You can put some Old Bay on the skin if you like.

Good luck "take pics"

Rick

I never rub my turkeys, I always brine. 1 cup of Kosher salt and 2 cups of brown sugar per gallon of water, no matter if the turkey is in a solution or not. Gets flavor nice and deep all through the turkey. I cook mine at about 250-275 and they always come out juicey and flavorfull.