Thinking about a Weber Kettle 26er

Bill Hall

TVWBB Fan
I've been thinking about getting a 26er lately and wanted some insight. I already have a WSM 18 and a 22 inch Kettle. I wanted something to cook larger portions for the few times a year I cook for 6-8 people. I would be cooking things like turkeys, ribs, wings, and random bone-in chicken pieces or halves. I bought a Pit Barrel Cooker for this purpose but I just don't like it that much. The 26er is pretty expensive and I don't know anyone that has one nor have I ever seen one on display. Would I be better off just getting an additional 22 for half the price? The largest thing I would probably cook would be up to a 15-pound turkey. I've also heard the 26er can have leg issues because of the weight. Looking forward to your suggestions.

I've been doing this for 4 years--which doesn't come close to the span of times others have regularly been cooking outdoors--but the 26" has been a part of my experience for 3.x years. I would not want to be without it. I've never done ribs on a Kettle but there are 4 of us in our household and my Mother-in-law along with my Niece (and kids) live around the corner. Between that and the fact that I'm used to a two-zone pit I am grateful for the space. I also have a 26" Gabby's Grill Santa Maria attachment, with which I find pure enjoyment.

On all Weber Kettles (I think) given how the legs attach to the bowl there is flex. This is a good thing in my humble opinion and none of my Kettles have compromised legs.