Smoking a Butt on friday evening (first time) on a Kettle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennis Fraley

TVWBB Super Fan
This is my first shot at Pulled Pork. I was planning on waiting for my WSM which I plan on buying next month. But after reading how great it is I cannot wait anymore. I know it'll be tough to regulate temps. But I think I can get it done. I'll be using about a 5 or 6 pound butt most likeley (that's about what I can find around here). I'm going to put a rub on it thursday night and let it sit in the fridge all night. I'll have my wife pull it out before I get home from work to help bring it up to room temp. I get home at about 3:15 PM. I'm hoping to have everything on by 4:00 or 4:30 pm. So I think it'll be a late night. I'll be using the minion (sp?)method. And I'll be using chunks of Apple and pear wood.
I've never done this before so if anyone has any tips let me know.

Thanks

Dennis F.

Dennis-

Go for it!! I've done ribs on a kettle, but never tried a butt (mostly because I didn't know what a butt was until after I had my offset...and then I figured I might as well monkey with the fire in the offset....) /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Try this link. It's for ribs, but should give you some ideas for the butt since they cook at about the same temp.

Ribs on Kettle

Make sure you have a therm setup somehow (I mounted one in my kettle lid.) Good luck!

Rich G.

Thanks Rich.
That first pic in the link you gave me is exactly how I was going to do it. I've always set up my kettle that way when I've smoked before. Only I've never put the water (or sand) pan above the coals on the cooking grate. I'm going to do that this time though. I really believe that will help control the temps alot. Especialy by using the minion method. I don't have a chimney for starting but I'll just use my 18 1/2" Weber Kettle to start about 15 or so coals to throw on top of the unlit ones.