Seeking advice on a thermometer

Mike_Mc

TVWBB Member
Hey all,

First off, thanks for all the great posts. Can't believe how much I have crammed into my brain already from all you BBQ geniuses!

I am new to the WSM community (as of Christmas) and I do not yet have a good wireless meat thermometer. Hoping you guys can point me in the right direction for a good one.

Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated.

I personaly do not use one of those. I just use a high quality polder brand digital meat thermometer. Some say you are opening your lid to the wsm too much but I know "about" when things are getting done after 20 years of smoking and grilling!

Well I can only aggre with Stefan´s choise of remote termo. I have the older Mav ET but i would love a 732. It should have a great range compare to the old one i have.

I dont have the same feel/experience for Temp/time like Dean and thats why i use a remote termo.

But as Dean said i would love an instant read termo like Thermapen for the kettle use,or the smoked turkey were you might wanna check a few different places before you pull it off.

Another vote for the ET-732.

A Thermapen is on my wish list but cheaper Polder digital units work just fine both pen-type and wired units.

I've used the ET-73 for several years now and have loved it, although, I did have a few gripes about it. Those gripes seemed to have been fixed with the new ET-732. I ordered one last week and am just waiting for it to come in the mail. Can't wait to actually be able to have it next to my bed as I sleep with the new extended range.

I also use a Thermapen which comes in handy on stuff like chicken.

Maverick and thermapen are my therms of choice as well. Expensive but both are worth the money.

If your planning on using it with the WSM mostly, I would start with the Maverick for sure. Which is good...it's cheaper!
icon_smile.gif