Just got a 22.5 and have fire questions and a bunch of other questions.

Dale Nichols

TVWBB Super Fan
I posted this here even though I am not new to the WSM , I have had the 18 for about ten years. But I am new to the 22 and it looks like a different animal it's so huge. :)
This post might be a little long but I will get most of my questions out of the way all at once. Back in 03 the Minion method using half a chimney on top, using Kinsford blue got you 12-15 hours rock steady at 225. I used it for everything 6 hour cooks or 15 it did not matter so I never tried anything else. It worked just fine.

1.Now I hear the new Kingsford blue is different and does not burn as long. True or false? And is Kingsford, Stubbs or Royal Oak all about the same? I always used Kingsford.

2.Do I treat the 22 the same way? What I mean by that is the snake,C or fuse was not around then. What is it used for? Low short cooks? Why not the Minion again?

3.This is new to,the Minion with the tin can? What for?

4.Back in 03 you had two choices, water in the the pan or sand that's it. Now you can go no water, just a clay saucer wrapped in foil for a heat sink or just a foil lined dry pan. Is this for better bark and easy clean up? If so I am all for that. I did watch and talk to Terri Hooks last weekend who posts here from time to time and does very well in comp's (in Georgia) and he uses water. I thought I would add that while I thought about it.

5. Using the 18 inch charcoal ring? That is for saving fuel for short cooks right?

6. My 22 has a definite welded seam all the way down the center section that you can see real easy,do they all? My 18 is smooth you can not see any seam.

7. Terri also said that the hinge for the lid is one of the best mod's I could do. How is everybody like like it?