Hot or Cold, Wet or Dry?

Steve_A (Tatoosh)

TVWBB Super Fan
Well, I'm a newbie at smoking to be sure. And right now my favorite thing to smoke is bacon, followed closely by cured pork chops. And I did some of both today. Normally I give my bacon a few hours at least in the fridge to form a pellicle. Sometimes I am in a hurry and I cheat a bit by sitting on a table and pointing a fan at it, provided it is a cool day. But I have been reading some test results posted by Greg Blonder, who is occasionally quoted over at Amazing Ribs. Anyway, his testing found that wet surfaces grab more smoke than dry or oily surfaces. Not exactly a comparison between a pellicle and a wet belly, but it got me to thinking that maybe the pellicle is not as necessary provided the surface of the bacon is wet. So I decided to give it a try today. Not a scientific test, just a small belly done without waiting for a pellicle to form, smoked while the surface was still wet.

He tested to see if bringing food to room temperature or warmer enhanced smoke capture. Surprisingly, it is the opposite, or so his tests seem to show. Starting your food cold seems to promote smoke adherence. He tested with ceramic tiles, not bacon or chops. But it was pretty visual comparing white glazed tiles that were smoked for the same amount of time and temperature. The one started after refrigerating was much smokier. So you can guess what temperature my bacon and chops were. Cold, reefer cold, 37F according to my little refridgerator thermometer.

And I can't quite report the results yet. The bacon, two small pieces, are in the ice chest chilling down to be sliced. Tomorrow morning I'll know if I have some smoke on them or not. Of course, being utterly unscientific, these have been done with coffee, using a recipe I found in the archives of the New York Times. Made with salt, cure #1, honey, and a couple tablespoons of cold, strong, black coffee. One piece is au natural and the other is a pepper bacon.