First WSM Cook

Tom Rotta

TVWBB Fan
Newbie here. After 2 weeks, I FINALLY got to fire up my brand new 18.5” WSM. Making some pulled pork butt for my first WSM outing.

Didn't have much time to shop around for meat, so I picked up whatever was readily available. 6.22 # bone in butt. I normally inject, but since this is an enhanced piece of meat, I used the injection sparingly. Also left most of the salt out of the mix. Covered in mustard then rub. Wrapped up in the fridge overnight.

2/3 ring of coals with 3 – 4 pieces each of apple and cherry wood. Lit using minion method. Water in the water pan.

Now the wait....

DSC00119_zps696c3056.jpg

DSC00122_zpsbd977495.jpg

DSC00125_zps49883ed1.jpg

Last edited:
Temp hit 254 about an 45 minutes in. Closed 1 vent and other 2 others down to about ¼ each. Maintained 230 – 240 all day.

6.25 hours in, wrapped in foil to finish it off. Hit my target internal temp at about 8 hours total cook time. Removed it from the smoker and let it rest in the foil for about 1 hour before pulling.

Pulled pork turned out good. I can't believe how well the WSM held it's temp all day. After a year of frustration fighting with the Brinkmann to keep the temp under control, why did I wait so long to buy this WSM?

Potatoes and onions in a skillet on the grill.
DSC00127_zps991c5f96.jpg

Pulled
DSC00129_zps32d6d373.jpg

Plated
DSC00130_zpsd2d2a977.jpg

Wholey crap!! Nice start! All looks ...really tasty! Great first cook! Something tells me you are not a newby to BBQ !