Beef short ribs? How Long?

Harold C

TVWBB Member
So, I'm going to blow up the smoker on Saturday and do three things: baby back ribs, cochinita pibil (Yucatin pork), and beef short ribs.

I've never done short ribs before. I plan to cook them the same way I do baby backs -- with the smoker in the 225 to 275 range. Baby backs take anywhere from 4 to 6 hours for me, ideally closer to 6 hours. How long should I expect the beef short ribs to take? I'm guessing about the same?

Do I want to shoot for an internal temp in the 195 to 200 range? Or judge if they are done by how much they have pulled back from the end of the bone?

Tips or hints?

I've done a few batches of short ribs (block cut).
I use Montreal Steak Seasoning for the rub and ran about 250° F
Pull back was about 3/4"+ and cook time was about 3-1/2 hours.
I didn't check internal temp...just eyeballed them. Super-nice smoke ring.

I'm thinkin' that the large bone mass heats up and cooks them from from both sides, hence the slightly shorter cook time.
They are awesome. They eat almost like poor man's brisket.

I know a guy that cooks 'em in the large block size...6-7" x 10" or so and has a grand ol' time.
If you know your butcher, he'll hook you up with the nice, meaty stuff.....The Good Stuff.....bring him some marinade or sauce !
(that's how I do it)

:)

Thanks. I figured that pullback from the bone would probably be the best gauge. That's the most reliable with baby backs, too. Good to know to start looking at them early. Got these from my local fancy butcher shop. They look marvelous. Big ol' fat meaty ribs. I never get them at the grocery store because they never look worth a darn, considering how expensive they are. Then, I saw that the butcher shop had them. They had just cut and put these out.