New Countertops And A Celebratory Steak

Phil Perrin

TVWBB Hall of Fame
Our house is not the fanciest,so Pammi and I have been upgrading it almost since we bought it 12 years ago. Fairly soon after we mover in,we ripped out the cheap carpet and put down hardwoods. We also took out the cheap linoleum in the kitchen and bathroom and have put down tile. It's actually pretty reasonable when you do it yourself!
We were going to do a concrete overlay for counter tops in the kitchen. We did it with success in our master bath. But a recent trip to Ikea changed everything! We always look in the "as-is" section before we check out. On our last trip there, we found two nice pieces of butcher block counter tops! A 6' section and an 8' one! Heavily discounted,it was just over $200 for those pieces that normally retail for about $300 for the two! Score! We wound up having to order another 6' section (at full retail,plus shipping! :mad:) But that's okay, because all in all, we got a great deal! Add in a new under mount sink and a faucet, and we are in it for less than $700 !
Here is our kitchen,pre demo.
C024FD52-6DCD-4AA4-9723-79F6FFB8DF49_zpsg7yg0kzf.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
And the opposite side,where the microwave and stand mixer usually reside.
E69056A1-427C-4686-9ACF-C6B5F1343DEB_zpshqpyyipe.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
And,the counter top removed and framing for the under mount sink in place!
694AAFB4-6BB6-4729-A304-02B62C404ADF_zpszly5s17b.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
Pammi helped me put the big piece on Friday night! That sucker was heavy!
1A4E1CF4-FDD1-42B1-BA6A-9B0F78A2CABA_zpsegkfzwjt.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
And after MUCH measuring and remeasuring and cutting AND recutting, we got the corner section perfect!
541E1521-3FAA-409D-8145-335BEB7CF9ED_zpsd3db2bxe.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
And, the smaller side counter top in place!
B9DFF80E-D2CF-4BB2-A0C6-7D0932C1A209_zps6qedkn2o.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
And,tada ! With the sink cut out and the faucet installed,it was all done but the plumbing!